Topological Quantum Field Theory thematic sessions — 2020

The TQFT Club is planning to host online some informal thematic sessions in July, to replace the thematic period we had originally planned. The topics will be broadly related to our research project on Higher Structures and Applications.

Each session will have two 40 minute talks each followed by a 20 minute discussion period / coffee break. To join the session on zoom a password is required. Please subscribe to the mailing list for our regular TQFT Club seminars to receive password information and updates about the mini-workshop. Further sessions will be announced here and via the mailing list.

The goal is to facilitate discussion during and around the talks using facilities in Zoom. We request people to enter with a proper name, e.g. Peter Smith, not Peter or PS, or change their name suitably after entering. For discussions we may well use the zoom whiteboard, so if you have a pen tablet that will facilitate participation.

  Mon, 6 Jul 2020 Wed, 15 Jul 2020 Wed, 22 Jul 2020 Wed, 29 Jul 2020



Jeff Morton
SUNY Buffalo State, USA
Some Categorical Considerations in Extending TQFT via Higher Gauge Theory

Gonçalo Quinta & Rui André
Physics of Information and Quantum Technologies Group - IST (GQ); Center for Astrophysics and Gravitation - IST (RA)
Topological Links and Quantum Entanglement

Vanessa Miemietz
University of East Anglia, UK
2-representation theory of Soergel bimodules

Wendy Lowen
Univ. Antwerp, Belgium
Linear quasi-categories as templicial modules (joint work with Arne Mertens)



Alex Bullivant
Univ. Leeds, UK
A categorification of the tube algebra

Mauro Spera
Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Brescia, Italy
Symplectic geometry, geometric quantization and the HOMFLYPT polynomial

Walter Mazorchuk
Uppsala University, Sweden
Adjunction in the absence of identity

Rune Haugseng
Norwegian University of Science and Technology
Iterated spans and classical topological field theories

Current organisers

  • Aleksandar Mikovic
  • João Faria Martins
  • John Huerta
  • Marco Mackaay
  • Marko Stosic
  • Pedro Brito
  • Roger Picken